top of page

June, 17th 1953 in Halle (S.)

Timeline of filming and filmed events

The story of Albert Ammer's filming on June 17, 1953 is still outrageous and unbelievable today. He shot three professional 35mm film rolls with film assistant Jutta-Regina Lau. The Stasi arrests him and the GDR regime labels him an enemy of the state. This true and unique story is told in the novel"Albert's pictures remain" grippingly told. 

With the events in Ukraine, Russia, Iran, China and Peru, for example, Albert Ammer's film footage has a dimension of relevance that goes far beyond 1953.

Below the pictures lead to my videos at the original filming locations and to selected recordings from June 17, 1953 in Halle (p.). There are further personal comments on the pictures from 1953 from Halle (S.).here.

Alexander K. Ammer on central market square, Halle
Alexander K. Ammer in front of former prison, Halle
Alexander K. Ammer in Halle (S.)
Alexander K. Ammer in front of Red Ox memorial, Halle

Traffic junction Reileck, Halle (S.) about noon
Jutta-Regina Lau, Albert Ammer and DEFA studio janitor are on there way to get lunch for the DEFA crew as they come across thousands of demonstrators on the city streets. 
People are on their way to the city centre.

DEFA film studio, Kohlschütterstreet, Halle (S.) about 12:30pm 

The film team Ammer/ Lau decides to film the incredible events in the city of Halle. The film assistant Lau prepares two black-and-white 35mm film cassettes for the shoot. The DEFA janitor joins the camera team.

Prison Red Ox, Am Kirchtor, Halle (S.) about 1pm

On a rack body truck the three film maker reach the infamous prison. In front of the massive walls and on the street hundreds of protestors are gathered. Factory workers on strike, students and relatives from imprisoned inmates demonstrate loudly. Chants demand to free the political prisoners.

Albert starts filming from the back of the truck. Dramatic events unfold in front of his camera. The communist security forces react with brutal force. A water canon is used from the prison inside against protesters. Fearless teenagers throw stones. Even children fight against the water being sprayed against the peaceful demonstrators.

Shortly later, as the truck with the film teams heads towards the city centre, shots are being fired from the prison inside. One student is murdered by gunshot. 

Streets towards the city center of Halle (S.), approx. 1:45 p.m.

From the back of the truck, Ammer and Lau film citizens cheering on the side of the road. Many people wave happily to the camera team. Film images of cheering women emerge. The truck is only moving slowly. The streets are filled with cheerful people walking towards market square. Chants ring out. There are calls for the government to be overthrown. 

Marktplatz Halle (S.) from around 2:00 p.m

Public life comes to a standstill. The gathered people block tram trains. Albert directs the truck between the Handel Monument (right side in front) and market church (right in the back).

Ammer/Lau film the arrival of a large demonstration, led by the later strike leader Weber. Leaning on his crutches, he leads a procession of strikers into the market square. The demonstration marches directly towards the film crew.

To get an even better view, Ammer and Lau climb onto the roof of the truck. The filming team is visible to everyone on the market square. Albert films with his 35mm camera on his shoulder, Jutta-Regina Lau acts right next to the film camera. She is wearing a white dress. At that moment, a Stasi employee or sympathizer took a photo of the film crew. That photo will be presented as evidence in the later show trial. 

Albert Ammer wants to showcase filmmaking even better. The demonstrators chant the chants, but walk past the film crew rather carelessly. In the next film shot, Jutta-Regina waves to the demonstrators. Both film the “famous still” with the laughing strike leader Herbert Gohlke, who happily waves at the camera. Albert shoots dozens of women cheerfully waving at the camera. The staff of a hospital joined the protest march. Many people happily cheer on the rotating drum. There is a happy interaction between demonstrators and the film team. Young people standing by cheer and applaud the film crew. The second film reel is twisted.

Defa film base, Kohl Schütterstrasse, Halle (S.)

Jutta-Regina Lau organizes a third roll of film material in the Defa camp.

Women's prison on Kleine Steinstrasse, Halle (S.) from around 3:30 p.m

Albert films the mass of relatives in front of the gate of the women's prison. A poster has been put up right next to the closed gate. It reads, alluding to the hated GDR top politician Walter Ulbricht: “The beard is gone.”

There is a commotion from the prison. A demonstrator with a head injury is led out. The demonstrator is injured but can walk himself. He is wearing a head bandage. Albert is filming.  

The film crew is looking for an elevated location. You can find this in the residential building opposite. A little later, young people storm out of the prison gate and present the film camera with a captured and dismantled carbine.

The street is crowded. A striking number of women and young men are protesting again. 

The prison gate opens. Security officers dressed in suits open the gate. Young women, perhaps only twenty years old, rush into freedom. 

Ammer and Lau film the GDR's only successful and peaceful prison liberation. They are indescribable moments of happiness and surprise. For the liberated women as well as for the longingly waiting relatives.

The preserved still images document how very young, but also very old and weakened inmates find unexpected freedom. Some of the freed women look at the camera, perhaps again at the young film assistant.

A middle-aged woman is visibly weakened by her imprisonment and is supported on the way out of prison by a woman of about the same age. When the weakened woman steps onto the street, she faints. Bystanders rush to help.

 

Some of the freed inmates wear convict clothing. Two very old ladies in convict clothing also saved some belongings. In front of Albert's camera they smile directly into the camera. 

According to Stasi documents, around 245 inmates were freed from the women's prison. 

 

Shortly afterwards, Soviet military personnel and armed soldiers took up positions in front of the gate. The beginning of the end of freedom in Halle and the GDR. Albert films the Soviet soldiers. 

Heavy weapons of war rattle into the city center of Halle (p.). Albert's last film shoots in the GDR: Three Soviet tanks.

Defa film base approx. 4:30 or 5:00 p.m.     

Ammer, Lau and the caretaker put the film equipment into the cupboards provided, as they do after every day of filming. Albert would never see his colleagues at Defa again.

Early morning of June 18th 1953

Three communist state police members arrest Albert Ammer at his rented appartment in Halle (S.). Directly they take him inside the Red Ox prison. Albert Ammer disappears in a prison cell in the prison basement.

June to August 1953

East German security forces conduct comprehensive investigations against Albert Ammer. His film material is being used to identify demonstrators and participants in the uprising. At least parts of the film material are being cut into pieces. What happens to the original film negatives is unknown. 

September 1953

A propaganda trial against Albert Ammer is orchestrated by East German police and court. Based on contrived charges and by enforcing draconic communist jurisdiction Albert Ammer is sentenced to three years in prison. On top of that he is punished with occupational ban, collection of all assets, seizure of his film camera and equipment and loss of all civic rights in the GDR. Albert Ammer will spend even more than the three years in East German jails. 

End of June 1956

Albert Ammer leaves the infamous GDR state prison of Waldheim. As a sentenced outlaw, he is unable to find work. In September 1953 he decides to flee to Western Germany with his wife. His communist security forces file will receive again in 1986 the classification "top-secret".

Sometime in the years 2001 or 2002

Blow-up pictures manufactured by communist security forces in 1953 from Albert Ammers film material are discoverd in "Stasi" files. Jutta-Regina Ammer, the film assistant from June 17th 1953, who Albert married later in West-Germany, receives information from a civil rights activist on the newly discovered pictures from June 17th in Halle. 

Based on communist security force files and eye-witness accounts the blow-up pictures are beyond doubt credited to Albert Ammer's and Jutta-Regina Lau's filming.

From that time, I banded with my mother, Jutta-Regina Lau (Ammer) to show those pictures to the public. We began to tell the story of those picture publically.  

2023

Just before the 70th anniversary of the uprising in East-Germany, I publish my novel about the live of Albert Ammer, entitled "Alberts Bilder bleiben". Adventurous stories needed to be told... Video clips at the original film location from Ammer and Lau are also published. 

Please dive into fascinating history and discover forbidden pictures of our past!

Click here for novel "Alberts Bilder bleiben".

Title page of novel "Alberts Bilder bleiben"
bottom of page

top of page

17. Juni 1953 in Halle (S.)

Zeitleiste der Filmaufnahmen

Die Geschichte von Albert Ammers Filmaufnahmen vom 17. Juni 1953 ist bis heute ungeheuerlich und unglaublich. Er verdrehte mit der Filmassistentin Jutta-Regina Lau drei professionelle 35mm Filmrollen. Die Stasi verhaftet ihn und das DDR-Regime stempelt ihn zum Staatsfeind. Diese wahre und einzigartige Geschichte wird im Roman "Alberts Bilder bleiben" packend erzählt. 

Mit den Ereignissen z.B. in der Ukraine, in Russland, im Iran, China oder Peru besitzen die Filmaufnahmen von Albert Ammer eine weit über 1953 hinausgehende Dimension von Aktualität.

Unten führen die Bilder zu meinen Videos an den Original-Drehplätzen der Filmaufnahmen und zu ausgewählten Aufnahmen vom 17. Juni 1953 in Halle (S.). Weitere persönliche Kommentare zu den Bildern von 1953 aus Halle (S.) gibt es hier.

Alexander K. Ammer auf Marktplatz Halle
Alexander K. Ammer vor Gefängnis Halle
Alexander K. Ammer in Halle (S.)
Alexander K. Ammer vor Roten Ochsen Halle

Verkehrskreuzung Reileck, Halle (S.) ca. 12:00 Uhr
Jutta-Regina Lau, Albert Ammer und der Hausmeister der Defa bemerken beim Abholen des Mittagessens für die Belegschaft des Defa Filmstudios Halle tausende Menschen, die mit Sprechchören Richtung Innenstadt marschieren.

Defa Filmstützpunkt, Kohlschütterstraße, Halle (S.) ca. 12:30 Uhr

Das Filmteam Ammer/ Lau beschließt die unglaublichen Ereignisse in Halle zu filmen. Die Filmassistentin legt zwei Rollen schwarz-weiß Material in die Filmkassetten. Der Hausmeister schließt sich beiden an.

Gefängnis Roter Ochse, Am Kirchtor, Halle (S.) ca. 13:00 Uhr

Auf der Ladefläche eines LKWs erreichen die drei Filmer:innen die Straße vor dem berüchtigten Gefängnis. Vor den Mauern und auf der Straße befinden sich Massen von Demonstrant:innen, Student:innen und Angehörige von Insassen. Sprechchöre fordern die Freilassung der Gefangenen. Albert filmt dramatische Szenen vor dem Tor des Gefängnisses. Mit brutaler Gewalt gehen die Sicherheitskräfte von Innen gegen die unbewaffneten Demonstranten vor. Wasserwerfer verletzen furchtlose Jugendliche und Demonstrant:innen.

Wenig später, als das Filmteam bereits mit dem Lastwagen Richtung Innenstadt weiterfährt, fallen Schüsse vom Inneren des Gefängnisse. Ein Student wird ermordet.

Straßen Richtung Innenstadt Halle (S.), ca. 13:45 Uhr 

Von der Ladefläche des LKW filmen Ammer und Lau am Straßenrand jubelnde Bürger:innen. Viele winken dem Kamerateam fröhlich zu. Filmbilder von jubelnden Frauen entstehen. Der LKW kommt nur langsam voran. Die Straßen sind angefüllt mit gut gelaunten Menschen, die zum Marktplatz laufen. Sprechchöre erklingen. Der Sturz der Regierung wird gefordert. 

Marktplatz Halle (S.) ab ca. 14:00 Uhr

Nichts geht mehr. Die versammelten Menschen kapern selbst Trambahnen. Albert dirigiert den LKW zwischen Händeldenkmal (rechte Seite vorn) und Marktkirche (rechts im Rücken).

Ammer/ Lau filmen die Ankunft eines großen Demonstrationszuges, angeführt vom späteren Streikführer Weber. Mit Krücken führt er einen Zug von Streikenden auf den Marktplatz. Der Demonstrationszug läuft direkt auf das Filmteam zu.

Um einen noch besseren Blickpunkt zu erreichen steigen Ammer und Lau auf das Dach des LKWs. Das Drehteam ist auf dem Marktplatz für alle sichtbar. Albert filmt mit der seiner 35mm Kamera auf der Schulter, Jutta-Regina Lau agiert direkt neben der Filmkamera. Sie trägt ein weißes Kleid. In jenem Moment knipst ein Mitarbeiter oder Sympathisant der Stasi ein Foto vom Filmteam. Jenes Fotobild wird im späteren Schauprozess als Beweis vorgelegt. 

Albert Ammer will die Filmgestaltung noch besser in Szene setzen. Die Demonstrant:innen skandieren die Sprechchöre, laufen aber eher achtlos am Filmteam vorbei. In der nächsten Filmeinstellung winkt Jutta-Regina den Demonstrant:innen zu. Beide filmen das „berühmte Standbild“ mit dem lachenden Streikführer Herbert Gohlke, der fröhlich in die Kamera winkt. Albert dreht dutzende von Frauen, die heiter in die Kamera winken. Die Belegschaft eines Krankenhauses hat sich dem Protestzug angeschlossen. Viele jubeln dem Drehtam fröhlich zu. Es entsteht eine frohe Interaktion zwischen Demonstrant:innen und Filmteam. Umstehende Jugendliche jubeln dem Filmteam zu und applaudieren. Die zweite Filmrolle ist verdreht.

Defa-Filmstützpunkt, Kohlschütterstraße, Halle (S.)

Jutta-Regina Lau organisiert im Defa-Lager eine dritte Rolle Filmmaterial.

Frauengefängnis an der kleinen Steinstraße, Halle (S.) ab ca. 15:30 Uhr

Albert filmt die Masse von Angehörigen vor dem Tor des Frauengefängnisses. Direkt neben dem geschlossenen Tor ist ein Plakat befestigt worden. Es lautet, in Anspielung an den verhassten DDR-Spitzenpolitiker Walter Ulbricht: "Der Bart ist ab".

Tumult ertönt aus der Haftanstalt. Ein am Kopf verletzter Demonstrant wird hinaus geführt. Der Demonstrant ist verletzt, kann aber selbst gehen. Er trägt einen Kopfverband. Albert filmt.  

Das Filmteam sucht einen erhöhten Drehplatz. Sie finden diesem im gegenüberliegenden Wohnhaus. Wenig später stürmen Jugendliche aus dem Tor des Gefängnisses und präsentieren der Filmkamera einen erbeuteten und zerlegten Karabiner.

Die Straße ist überfüllt. Wieder protestieren auffallend viele Frauen und junge Männer. 

Das Gefängnistor öffnet sich. In Anzügen gekleidete Sicherheitsbeamte öffnen das Tor. Es stürmen junge Frauen, vielleicht nur zwanzig Jahre alt, in die Freiheit. 

Ammer und Lau filmen die einzige, erfolgreiche und friedliche Gefängnisbefreiung der DDR. Es sind unbeschreibliche Momente von Glück und Überraschung. Für die befreiten Frauen ebenso, wie für die sehnsüchtig wartenden Angehörigen.

Die erhaltenen Standbilder dokumentieren, wie ganz junge, aber auch sehr alte und geschwächte Insassinnen in die unverhoffte Freiheit treten. Einige der befreiten Frauen blicken zur Kamera, vielleicht wieder zu der jungen Filmassistentin.

Eine Frau mittleren Alters ist von der Haft sichtlich geschwächt und wird von einer etwa gleichalten Frau auf dem Weg aus dem Gefängnis gestützt. Als die geschwächte Frau auf die Straße tritt, fällt sie in Ohnmacht. Umstehende eilen zu Hilfe.

 

Einige der befreiten Insassinnen tragen Sträflingskleidung. Zwei sehr alte Damen in Sträflingskleidung haben auch einige Habseligkeiten gerettet. Vor Alberts Kamera lächeln sie direkt in die Kamera. 

Laut Stasi-Unterlagen wurden ca. 245 Insassinnen aus der Frauenhaftanstalt befreit. 

 

Kurz danach beziehen sowjetische Militärs mit bewaffneten Soldaten vor dem Tor Stellung. Der Anfang vom Ende der Freiheit in Halle und der DDR. Albert filmt die Sowjetssoldaten. 

Schwere Kriegswaffen rattern in die Innenstadt von Halle (S.). Alberts letzte Filmaufnahmen in der DDR: Drei sowjetische Panzer.

Defa-Filmstützpunkt ca. 16:30 oder 17:00 Uhr     

Ammer, Lau und der Hausmeister räumen das Filmgerät, wie nach jedem Drehtag in die dafür vorgesehen Schränke. Albert würde die Kolleg:innen der Defa nie wiedersehen.

Früher Morgen des 18. Juni 1953

Drei Beamte von Kripo und Stasi verhaften Albert Ammer in seinem angemieteten Zimmer in Halle (S.). Sie sperren ihn direkt in das Gefängnis Roter Ochse. Albert Ammer verschwindet hinter Gittern.

Juni bis August 1953

Die Staatssicherheit führt umfangreiche Ermittlungen gegen Albert Ammer durch. Das Filmmaterial wird von der Stasi missbraucht um Teilnehmer:innen vom Aufstand am 17. Juni 1953 zu identifizieren. Zumindest Teile des gedrehten Filmmaterials werden von der Stasi zerschnitten. Was mit dem originalen Filmnegativ und den wahrscheinlich angefertigten Vorführfilmrollen geschieht ist bis heute ungeklärt.

September 1953

In einem Schauprozess wird Albert Ammer, auf Basis erfundener Anschuldigungen und mittels drakonischer DDR-Gesetze, zu drei Jahren Gefängnis, Berufsverbot, Einzug der Filmkamera, Enteignung aller Güter und Verlust der DDR-Bürgerrechte verurteilt.

Ende Juni 1956

Albert Ammer wird aus dem Gefängnis Waldheim entlassen. Er ist ein geächteter Feind der DDR und findet keinerlei Arbeit. Im September flieht er in die Bundesrepublik. Seine Stasi-Akte wird noch im Jahr 1986 erneut mit dem Vermerk "streng geheim" versehen und gesichert.

Irgendwann um die Jahre 2001 oder 2002

Die Bildvergrößerungen aus Alberts Filmmaterial, mit denen die Stasi 1953 die Teilnehmer:innen am Aufstand identifizierte, werden in den Unterlagen der Stasi in Halle entdeckt. Jutta-Regina Ammer erhält über eine ehemalige DDR Bürgerrechtlerin einige Kopien von bereits zirkulierenden Standbildern. Auf Basis der Stasi-Unterlagen und den Zeugenaussagen für den Schauprozess können die Standbilder zweifelsfrei Albert Ammer zugeordnet werden. Gemeinsam mit meiner Mutter, Jutta-Regina Lau (Ammer) beginnen wir die durch Alberts Bilder konservierte Geschichte des 17. Juni 1953 der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. 

2023

Zum 70. Jahrestag veröffentliche ich meinen Roman "Alberts Bilder bleiben" über den Kameramann Ammer. Abenteuerliche Geschichte sind zu erzählen... Die Videos an den originalen Drehorten entstehen.

Viel Vergnügen beim Entdecken verbotener Bilder unserer Geschichte!

Hier zum Roman "Alberts Bilder bleiben".

Titelbild Roman Alexander K. Ammer
bottom of page